So close! Watch golf legend Jack Nicklaus nearly ace a hole-in-one — the ball hits the pin perfectly and bounces out of the cup. One of the greatest ‘what could’ve been’ shots in golf history!
That one guy made Jack go into his super focus mode.
No, I'm not and yes, it's unfair. As many have said below, the ball must come to rest while being beneath the surface of the green.
Technically speaking, if your ball is resting against the flagstick, but not beneath the surface of the green, and you pull the flagstick out and the ball comes out with it, then the ball was never holed and you must place the ball on the lip and putt out. Always flex the flagstick away from your ball to make sure it falls into the hole.
Golf is fun, but rarely does it seem fair.
The flag kept it out of the hole
That is so nutty.
Almost doesn't count on golf.
No, it didn't go in
No way that’s a HIO
Considering I’ve had this happen twice in one round and nobody I was playing with would count either one as an Ace I’d have to say it doesn’t count.
Unfortunately not a hole in one didn't stay in the cup. Doesn't count
No, it needs to come to rest.
Need deeper holes
If that’s a hole in one then my 5ft putt that went in and lipped out is also a birdie not a triple bogey…
Doesn’t get any better than that. Hole in one all the way.
No it is not a hole in one.
Former professional and I can confirm as long as the entire ball passes below the lip of the cup the hole has been completed. Now unless you have someone watching or recoreding its usually pretty hard to know if it went all the way in or bounced off the lip and flag.
NOPE
Should have pulled the pin.
In football if a ball hits the back of the net but comes forward back out of the goal it’s still a goal so 100% that should still be counted
They should make par 3 holes deeper to prevent that.
Did he get the birdie putt?
This isn't a hole in one, but an animal can pick up your ball on the green and drop it in the hole and it counts as a hole in one.
This man was such an inspiration to many.
Um….. according to the rules I believe the entirety of the ball must come to rest below the surface of the putting green for it to count.
Who would ever count that?
it counts
That one guy made Jack go into his super focus mode.
No, I'm not and yes, it's unfair. As many have said below, the ball must come to rest while being beneath the surface of the green.
Technically speaking, if your ball is resting against the flagstick, but not beneath the surface of the green, and you pull the flagstick out and the ball comes out with it, then the ball was never holed and you must place the ball on the lip and putt out. Always flex the flagstick away from your ball to make sure it falls into the hole.
Golf is fun, but rarely does it seem fair.
The flag kept it out of the hole
That is so nutty.
Almost doesn't count on golf.
No, it didn't go in
No way that’s a HIO
Considering I’ve had this happen twice in one round and nobody I was playing with would count either one as an Ace I’d have to say it doesn’t count.
Unfortunately not a hole in one didn't stay in the cup. Doesn't count
No, it needs to come to rest.
Need deeper holes
If that’s a hole in one then my 5ft putt that went in and lipped out is also a birdie not a triple bogey…
Doesn’t get any better than that. Hole in one all the way.
No it is not a hole in one.
Former professional and I can confirm as long as the entire ball passes below the lip of the cup the hole has been completed. Now unless you have someone watching or recoreding its usually pretty hard to know if it went all the way in or bounced off the lip and flag.
NOPE
Should have pulled the pin.
In football if a ball hits the back of the net but comes forward back out of the goal it’s still a goal so 100% that should still be counted
They should make par 3 holes deeper to prevent that.
Did he get the birdie putt?
This isn't a hole in one, but an animal can pick up your ball on the green and drop it in the hole and it counts as a hole in one.
This man was such an inspiration to many.
Um….. according to the rules I believe the entirety of the ball must come to rest below the surface of the putting green for it to count.